The Pancit that Almost Wasn’t

Before we get to the great pancit adventure, I need to make an announcement. I SURVIVED THE LUMPIA FRY! (with flying colors I might add.) Me in my long sleeves and long pants stood around the corner behind a wall armed with 30″ long tongs that one at a time settled my little pork rolls into their sizzling oil bath. By the end of frying I had gutsied up and was taking the oil head on, just like the guy who fries the bloomin’ onion at Outback.

Now that we know I have dodged the burn unit…let’s talk about pancit.

PANCIT: The Filipino term for noodles. Kind of like adobo, pancit comes in all forms. But the bottom line is, it’s noodles, veggies, and meat.

Seems simple enough.

New lesson learned tonight… Always look ahead a few steps.

If the noodles only need to soak for 1-2 minutes, know what needs to happen next. If the chicken and onion only are going to saute pretty quickly, prepare ahead of time for step 2. Failing to look ahead means…

GROUP EFFORT

Before I knew it my noodles were drooping with sogginess, my chicken was over cooked and drying out, my carrots and celery needed to be chopped and added 5 minutes ago, and I HADN’T THE SLIGHTEST idea of how to cut up a cabbage.

Side Note: Counter-slamming a cabbage into submission does nothing.

One housemate saved the chicken, another sliced the cabbage, and I slopped 1/3 of our slimy witch-hair looking noodles off of the cutting board and onto the counter. Helpful… I was not.

Conquering my fear of hot things AGAIN I fried up a few more lumpia and viola…DINNER FOR 4 withlotsofleftovers. Needless to say, the Pancit ended up being a smashing success. Dinner Guest Cabbage Chopper said with stuffed cheeks “This stuff is weally weally good.”

I know, I know, I know…this blog post is disappointing everyone with the lack of blood and guts and slimy things that make my do heeby jeeby dances. But WE HAVE REACHED A MILESTONE. As of tonight, I have successfully completed the 3 most popular and simplest dishes of the Philippines. It only gets more entertaining from here on out.

Speaking of entertaining, I know this is a food blog, but we are going to have to stray from that focus a little bit this weekend. I will have no time for cooking tomorrow because I will be sitting very still in a blind in Kearney, Nebraska watching half a million cranes swarm me. My fear and disgust for birds far outweighs any fear or disgust I have for things that could burn me. Pecking, pooping, and swooping…my worst nightmare. This bird watching experience is an obligation of another class and I think it is going to be nothing less than deserving of some blog time.

After waking up from my coma that I’m sure the birds will put me in, we will get right back to the food…

…Chocolate cereal, banana leaves, and a few things that slither.

Comments
3 Responses to “The Pancit that Almost Wasn’t”
  1. Andrea says:

    When you do German food, let me know! 🙂

  2. Shasty says:

    HA I feel the same about birds! So did I miss the pancit recipe somewhere? I’d love to try this 🙂

  3. Adalee says:

    Your cooking skills are so so entertaining! I love to read your adventures.

Leave a Reply

